Linux Mint and USB Installation

I am looking into doing a install of the Linux Mint 64-Bit MATE but I don't have any CD's/DVD's on hand with which to install the ISO. I know that it can be done with a USB drive but the website provides no further information on how to do so. I was wondering if anyone could guide me through the process as long as it isn't to complex or if I should just go run out and buy some CD's/DVD's to do it with and to have on hand. I have some experience already doing it the ISO method. Thanks!

Worship the Lord GabeN for he is your one true god!!!!

The Lord's Prayer

I use rufus to do make live usb's on windows, It's actually had a 100% success rate for me.

It's easy as balls, you'll figure it out ;)

If by some odd chance rufus doesn't work, give win32diskimager a try.

export PS1='\[\033[1;30m\]┌╼ \[\033[1;32m\]\u@\h\[\033[1;30m\] ╾╼ \[\033[0;34m\]\w\[\033[0;36m\]\n\[\033[1;30m\]└╼ \[\033[1;37m\]'

"All your threads are belong to /dev/null"

| 80's Terminal Keyboard Conversion | $5 Graphics Card Silence Mod Tutorial | 485KH/s R9 270X | The Smallest Ethernet Cable | Ass Pennies | My Screenfetch |

@Musikman

THe easiest way in my experience is to use a tool called YUMI to make the USB stick bootable.  Step by step instructions below.

1. Go here and download the YUMI program. http://www.pendrivelinux.com/yumi-multiboot-usb-creator/

2. Wait for the download to finish, and then launch the program (you will need a windows computer to do so. OSX does no work iirc. Can personally guarantee that most or all windows NT based will run it.)

3. Once launched, select I agree.

4. Now select your USB stick (should be E if you have a Single HDD partition and a single DVD drive).

5. Select Linux Mint 32/64 from the list. It is right below all the Ubuntu versions.

6. Select the iso location by selecting browse at the bottom. The location will be where you downloaded it.

7. Hit create and wait for the tool to do its job.