Changing TPM Device Selection from Discrete TPM to Firmware TPM

Wolf1596Games

After the announcement of Windows 11, I checked my PC to see if it is capable of running Windows 11 (even though I was sure it was). But to my surprise, it said it couldn't run it. After some digging, I learned that it may be because I don't have a Trusted Platform Module (TPM). The one workaround I found was to change the TPM setting in the BIOS from Discrete to Firmware TPM, but when I go to change it, I get a warning that pops up (shown in the attached image). I don't have a discrete TPM, so I don't think it'll cause any problems (if I'm to believe what I've read) but I'm not an expert, so I wanted some extra opinions. If I change it from Discrete TPM to Firmware TPM, will anything break? 

20210624_213058.jpg

I have exactly the same question, My Asus H270F Motherboard has 'Discrete TPM' selected with 'Firmware TPM' available to select.
Discrete TPM refers to the fact that on the Motherboard I would need to install an external Hardware 14-1 Pin TPM Module which isn't already included / integrated.

If I change to the BIOS setting to 'Firmware TPM', what are the risks... and will this meet the TPM requirements for Windows 11?

13 hours ago, Wolf1596Games said:

After the announcement of Windows 11, I checked my PC to see if it is capable of running Windows 11 (even though I was sure it was). But to my surprise, it said it couldn't run it. After some digging, I learned that it may be because I don't have a Trusted Platform Module (TPM). The one workaround I found was to change the TPM setting in the BIOS from Discrete to Firmware TPM, but when I go to change it, I get a warning that pops up (shown in the attached image). I don't have a discrete TPM, so I don't think it'll cause any problems (if I'm to believe what I've read) but I'm not an expert, so I wanted some extra opinions. If I change it from Discrete TPM to Firmware TPM, will anything break? 

20210624_213058.jpg