Planning build

Go to solution Solved by Tech87,

I think the MSI B550-A PRO ATX is a nice board. Just make sure it has all the inputs/outputs you need

I wouldn't worry about having your storage as nvme, just your main boot drive. General sata SSD is still a nice selection for storage.

Get as much space as you think you would need, keeping in mind modern games can eat up 50GB a piece.

Budget (including currency): $1850

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: 

Other details (existing parts lists, whether any peripherals are needed, what you're upgrading from, when you're going to buy, what resolution and refresh rate you want to play at, etc): 

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/s9XzcT

im new at building pc so i was wondering if i pick compatible parts and the best ones for my budget

Just now, Tech87 said:

What's the main use case going to be?

gaming and basic editing 

There's a chance that B450 motherboard isn't going to support the ryzen 5600x out of the box.

You're better off to go with the newer B550 chipset to be safe.

Also, I'd exchange the main WD Blue drive for an NVME drive. They give a nice performance boost, and are usually only a small bit more.

PSU Tier List   AMD Motherboard Tier List   SSD Tier List

If your issue is resolved, please share the fix with the community.

The 5600x is a nice CPU for gaming, but doesn't perform quite so well on multi-threaded tasks due to its limited 6 cores.

I just put a system together with a 5600x, and it's performing great for me, but just wanted to mentioned that.

1 minute ago, Tech87 said:

The 5600x is a nice CPU for gaming, but doesn't perform quite so well on multi-threaded tasks due to its limited 6 cores.

I just put a system together with a 5600x, and it's performing great for me, but just wanted to mentioned that.

do you have any recommendations for a NVME drive?