HDMI 15m/50ft

Cflorin
Go to solution Solved by dkoudijs,

I ran a long hdmi cable through the house for 5 years, and the card is still kicking. (PC in basement, tv in living room)

The cable was 50 feet, and I still use it when going to conventions/presentations etc.

So yes it could cause a heat/degregation issue but really if your card is getting extra power from the PSU, and not all from the PIC rails it would be fine.

Also I would be more worried about the USB speeds more than anything.

I'm not an engineer, just a dude with some expericance.

Hi guys, My name is Florin, i am new to this forum, i am not a noob but not a pro either.

The issue i have is as follows

I recently moved my nas and my work/lite gaming rig ( there are 2 pc's) in another building about 10 meters from my garage/service. To be able to use the work/lite gaming pc from the service, i bought a couple of 15m long cables : usb for keyboard an mouse, hdmi and ethernet. i know that there are much better solutions (i watched Linus's video about his and hers workstation and i cannot afford the cost so i opted for this solution.

everything is working properly for now but after the modifications i made, I watched a few more videos and now I am worried that the HDMI solution i implemented is not ok for long term, at least there were conflicting information in various videos/comments on the internet. 

My fear is that the HDMI port on my graphics card will fail due to the long distance/stress over time.

to be clear the part i used is the following : https://www.emag.ro/cablu-profesional-hdmi-2-0-tesatura-din-nylon-negru-metalizat-tata-tata-arc-4k-si-60hz-15-metri-vention-vaa-b05-b1500/pd/D2W013MBM/   - i must specify that the cable was branded with "ethernet" but i don't know what exactly that means...