Dell R900?

Hi there,

I was about to purchase a Dell R900 when I started panicking about it’s age. The one I was looking to purchase is roughly $150. It has 128GB ram and 4 older Xeons. The noise is not an issue for me, however I was looking to run some Minecraft servers on it by installing the pterodactyl panel. Should I keep looking for another server or do you think the R900 would be alright for my use case? I have never used servers before, and when I first saw it I thought it was a bargain but I do not want to purchase it if it would be too old to run the things I need.

There are a few things that you need to think about before purchasing

1. Minecraft servers rely heavily on per core performance so depending on the age of the Xeon it might not be the best

2. If the Minecraft server is just you a few friends you won’t need nearly that much ram my server is running a mod pack for about 8 people including me and I probably only use half of my 32 gb of ram.

3. Servers especially old ones consume a low of power and assuming you pay for your electricity you might want to keep that in mind.

3 minutes ago, Misguided Penguin said:

There are a few things that you need to think about before purchasing

1. Minecraft servers rely heavily on per core performance so depending on the age of the Xeon it might not be the best

2. If the Minecraft server is just you a few friends you won’t need nearly that much ram my server is running a mod pack for about 8 people including me and I probably only use half of my 32 gb of ram.

3. Servers especially old ones consume a low of power and assuming you pay for your electricity you might want to keep that in mind.

Thanks for the reply! The machine runs 4x Xeon E7450 CPUs. I used to run a Minecraft network and have since been requested to start it back up again. It will probably end up being fairly large so am worried mainly about the CPUs.