TIL color correction of bad smartphone photos is hard.

So I've been interested in photo editing (especially color correction) for a long time, and have been usually fixing white balance and the tint of images clicked by my sister on her canon rebel t6i (called a 750D here in asia) because she always messes them up somehow.

Then I decided to test these "skills" I thought I had on bad smartphone images I clicked with the inbuilt camera app of my ageing xiaomi redmi 4 (RAW was out of the question, because the phone doesn't support the camera2api I need to click RAW in open camera {BTW shoutout to open camera, the best free camera app I've seen on android hands down})

Long story short, it was a nightmare to fix, and still doesn't look accurate enough to what I saw with my own eyes when I decided to click that picture (that is usually my reference when I'm editing images, because although I'm not good at naming stuff, I'm pretty good at remembering colors). 

I first tried to use rawtherapee on PC (like I do for everything else), but I just couldn't fix it.

In the end, I had to manually paint onto the picture with the temperature brush tool in snapseed (making the sky mostly grey from an ugly blue-green, and the building the peachy orange it was supposed to be from whatever the heck out looked like in the original picture). 

How would y'all fix the original picture? I'm curious to know that. It might influence my editing style and make me better. Plus I just like interacting with people on this forum, so I'll keep asking stuff here, mission critical or not.My editIMG_20200729_170249.thumb.jpg.1705b5ce47781b40d54698e81791ec2c.jpg

Edited by Ash_Kechummm
These typos are gonna be the end of me

If the phones censor is actually a cheap/old sensor , then it's literally not capturing the color correctly and will always yield an image that you have to paint over