In the End...

oldSock

Hi everyone,

Happy new year if you are already at new years otherwise enjoy the festivities.

Post summery:

The Following post will contain a topic i keep close to heart, Modding games.

• It also ask the question should someone that spend the time to create the mod be allowed to get paid for it?
  • Should payment systems block individuals to get paid?

Right, Lets start here, 

Right as a programmer i like to tinker with with games that allow me to do so. Some games can be modded to the extreme others not so much. However I feel that modding a game adds to its overall experience and give it a much longer life then it otherwise would have had. Meaning modding keeps the gaming community's interest well after it's popularity and support. 

Now Multiplayer games that can be modded really adds to the overall experience and even help to form and maintain online communities. Keeping the interest going and making the game fun in new ways. However modding becomes tedious and momentum dies down unless the person developing the mods get a little something for their trouble. In the end of the day, it is still time that is consumed in creating something that will add value to a existing product. This allow the product itself to maintain interest.

Now normally people don't mind the small amounts that is asked. Usually not a lot because they know that selling mods cheaply means more people will buy it. That said not everyone agrees with this model and I personally understand and respect it but doesn't support it. But it is a lot of work, lets be clear on that part. Some mods can take months to complete, specially if one cannot do it full time.