Hard crash to black with 3080 - PSU issue?

pimanrules

I bought a FE 3080 as part of my planned 5950X-based build. In the meantime, I put it in my current computer, where it has been running fine since Tuesday. However, last night, after a few hours of playing Overwatch, it started hard crashing to a black screen, before rebooting into Windows. No blue screen, nothing in the Event Log, just a hard crash and reboot. This would continue to happen in Overwatch--never immediately upon starting the game, but always after a few minutes. I was able to reproduce the crash with a Furmark stress test. Limiting the GPU to 50% power in Afterburner seems to be stable (but, of course, it's impossible to say for sure, since the crashes take some time to happen; I haven't tried nailing down exactly how high it can go while remaining stable). 

I'm far from an expert on PC hardware, but this seems like a PSU issue to me, right? I also remember Linus mentioning the 3080 occasionally drawing power spikes, so maybe that's what's happening to me? What's puzzling to me is that it started happening so suddenly, after running fine for a while. A lot of games are CPU limited on my current build, so I haven't been hitting the GPU at 100% much, but like I said, it had run Overwatch for hours, as well as a few hours of Minecraft RTX with no issue. I hadn't tried running a stress test until issues started appearing. Additionally, I have an 850 watt power supply, which should be more than sufficient. On the other hand, it is over 8 years old, and only 80 Plus. Is that likely to be the culprit, or is there something else I should look into?