Does RAID 5 work with dual operating systems?

Hdesftg

I am fairly new to both RAID and linux and I am wondering if it is possible to run pop os and windows 10 at the same time and also use RAID 5 to get the performance and safety improvements that come along with that.  The only reason I am skeptical is that there a different drivers for both operating systems needed (I assume) and that they might try and interfere with each other.  If anybody knows what happens if I do this I would be happy is someone could explain so that I do not have to risk my entire system.

It will be a pain in the long run, just run 2 separate OSes on 2 separate drives and RAID your data drives.

Intel Xeon E5 1650 v3 @ 3.5GHz 6C:12T / CM212 Evo / Asus X99 Deluxe / 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 3000 Trident-Z / Samsung 850 Pro 256GB / Intel 335 240GB / WD Red 2 & 3TB / Antec 850w / RTX 2070 / Win10 Pro x64

HP Envy X360 15: Intel Core i5 8250U @ 1.6GHz 4C:8T / 8GB DDR4 / Intel UHD620 + Nvidia GeForce MX150 4GB / Intel 120GB SSD / Win10 Pro x64

HP Envy x360 BP series Intel 8th gen

AMD ThreadRipper 2!

5820K & 6800K 3-way SLI mobo support list

18 minutes ago, NumLock21 said:

It will be a pain in the long run, just run 2 separate OSes on 2 separate drives and RAID your data drives.

So with 3 storage devices ( probable 2 for windows and 1 for linux ) I could still use RAID on all of them at once or set up different each.  For instance nothing on linux, but RAID 0 on the windows ssd.

if you have a dedicated raid card you "may" be able to Raid pre-OS and have the card report a single drive. 

this is a super odd use case. have you thought about running a virtual machine in PopOS to run windows or vice versa and then you can raid5 on the main OS and have a virtual drive on the VM?

The best gaming PC is the PC you like to game on, how you like to game on it

Just now, GhostRoadieBL said:

if you have a dedicated raid card you "may" be able to Raid pre-OS and have the card report a single drive.