Mulitple APs one network

NoahJamesTech

Alright, I'm not very experienced when it comes to networking and I have a (hopefully) easy question. 

Network setup: XB6 xfinity modem/router, nighthawk rax800, amped wireless TAP-R3 (yes I know its a piece of garbage but it works) So the XB6 is in the middle of the house, rax800 upstairs, and tap-r3 in the basement. Both routers are directly connected via ethernet to the modem.

Is there way to create a mesh network where google home devices still work? Currently when I make each router broadcast the same network name none of the devices see each other, which makes sense but is there a way to fix this? I really don't know for sure but I think each router has a different dchp server? Again I don't really understand networking

I really suggest you getting a mesh network since it makes it easier on you to easily configure your devices without playing with network settings. I personally use the Linksys Velop that has application setup support and support Ethernet linking. 

If you're not into spending money on a mesh solution. There really isn't a way to create a mesh network with different routers since they cannot communicate to each other in terms of knowing which router to connect to in a given space. You should change the routers names according to floor numbers. As for the DHCP servers you could find many videos and tutorials on how to link one router to another using an ethernet cable and only enabling the main router.

Hope this helps!

30 minutes ago, juniorjames316 said:

Alright, I'm not very experienced when it comes to networking and I have a (hopefully) easy question. 

Network setup: XB6 xfinity modem/router, nighthawk rax800, amped wireless TAP-R3 (yes I know its a piece of garbage but it works) So the XB6 is in the middle of the house, rax800 upstairs, and tap-r3 in the basement. Both routers are directly connected via ethernet to the modem.