New build and some questions from a first time builder

Morgals

I am a PC newb and this is my first build. TLDR with questions at bottom.

I got the build mainly from logical increments.

Rosewill - THOR V2 Case

ASUS Prime X570-P Ryzen 3 motherboard

Rosewill PHOTON Series 650W powersupply

AMD RYZEN 5 3600X 

Cooler master R1 Hyper

Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB (SSD) 

G.SKILL Aegis 

Seagate 2tb Internal hard drive

So I now have all the parts and the case is huge. 

I started by replacing the cooler mounting bracket for the cpu to the Cooler master. No real issue here except I paid for a CPU that had the stock cooler. Seems like a waste.
Inserting the chip was easy because I knew to look for the odd corner. This is not mentioned in the instructions. 

Applied thermal compound, there was some in the cooler master package but I bought some because I was unsure. The amount seems silly since you only use a tiny bit. Watched a video from linus on the best method (it does not matter). Only issue with the cooler was placing it on the chip it moved around a little bit while I got the screws in place. I had to push down one side, then the other.

I did not do a test boot because I am a bad person and will probably regret that decision. 

Mounted the power supply in the case and no real issue other than it is tight (and looks like it is meant to be).

Placed the mother board stand offs and had only a slight issue as the roswell case has numbers stamped next to the holes. Some stamps where missing and one referenced to the wrong whole (every other number was to the left of the hole it referenced except 5 was to the right).

Installed the IO shield, the IO shield was not retained in the case or on the board. The force of the mother board seems to hold it in. I had expected it to clip into the case. Had to press fairly hard against the io shield to screw the board in.