taking screenshots of a website

TheBean

I want to design an app that shows you the weather. I want to use Dark Sky because its super accurate but they are no longer accepting API registrations. So, I thought of an interesting solution but I am not sure how to code it as i'm still pretty new to programming. 

In the background (every 10 minutes), take a screenshot of the dark sky website and save it on your device. Then, when you click on the icon in the taskbar, it basically just shows you the picture. 

I have not started at all yet but I just want to know if this is even possible in Java. And if it is, how would you code java to take screenshots of a webpage?

This is probably not an approved use of their website and probably breaks some terms.

What you really want is not to take a screenshot, but rather to scrape the data from the website.

It's possible, but there are probably better alternatives -- even though it's less accurate.

QUOTE/TAG ME WHEN REPLYING

Spend As Much Time Writing Your Question As You Want Me To Spend Responding To It.

If I'm wrong, please point it out. I'm always learning & I won't bite.

Desktop:

Delidded Core i7 4770K - GTX 1070 ROG Strix - 16GB DDR3 - Lots of RGB lights I never change

Laptop:

HP Spectre X360 - i7 8560U - MX150 - 2TB SSD - 16GB DDR4

2 minutes ago, RadiatingLight said:

This is probably not an approved use of their website and probably breaks some terms.

What you really want is not to take a screenshot, but rather to scrape the data from the website.

It's possible, but there are probably better alternatives -- even though it's less accurate.

I took a look at their TOS and nothing seemed to indicated that I can't do that.  (this is personal use only and not commercial so I should be fine). 

If I were to scrape data, it makes my life much harder because then I would have to then display that information in a nice way back to the user. I don't have the skills for that. 

17 minutes ago, Saksham said: