Enough Thermal Paste?

Hey Guys,

So I changed Thermal Paste for the first time on a laptop. Its a Razer Blade pro 2017 v2. I was shocked to see the Thermal Paste done by Razer. The laptop is not even 1 Year old and the paste was already dried up and it was a complete mess. I have posted a picture. I mean this came like that from Razer. So anyways I changed the Thermal Paste. I used Arctic MX-4. Because it is my first time changing Thermal Paste I am not sure if it is to much or too less. Anyways I applied it and closed my laptop. The Temp did drop a bit but not much. So that gets me guessing if the paste was enough or too much. Any advice would be great. The GTX 1080 is on the left and i7-70820HK on the right.

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-08 at 6.52.51 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-08 at 6.52.51 PM (1).jpeg

No Razer didn't put too much and it's only really dried up because it's cold. 

You put too little on the GPU IMO because on Razers attempt they actually closed the gap from the coldplate to the heatpipe giving it more

heat transfer area, which you don't really have now.

Generally reapplying thermal paste after 1 year is a bad idea unless temps are bad ofc. 

Gaming HTPC:

R5 5600X - Cryorig C7 - Asus ROG B350-i - EVGA RTX2060KO - 16gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3333mhz - Corsair SF450 - 500gb 960 EVO - LianLi TU100B

Desktop PC:
R9 3900X - Peerless Assassin 120 SE - Asus Prime X570 Pro - Powercolor 7900XT - 32gb LPX 3200mhz - Corsair SF750 Platinum - 1TB WD SN850X - CoolerMaster NR200 White - Gigabyte M27Q-SA - Corsair K70 Rapidfire - Logitech MX518 Legendary - HyperXCloud Alpha wireless

Boss-NAS [Build Log]:
R5 2400G - Noctua NH-D14 - Asus Prime X370-Pro - 16gb G.Skill Aegis 3000mhz - Seasonic Focus Platinum 550W - Fractal Design R5 - 
250gb 970 Evo (OS) - 2x500gb 860 Evo (Raid0) - 6x4TB WD Red (RaidZ2)

Synology-NAS:
DS920+
2x4TB Ironwolf - 1x18TB Seagate Exos X20

Audio Gear: