Newbie Who Suddenly has a Overclockable Motherboard

Hi all,

I am new here, but long time LTT Youtube follower. 

The thread title may not be totally accurate, but anyway. It has been a terrible week for me on the computer front. I will see if a bit of typing calms the soul like it used to in my vBulletin days!

I am an audio engineer who now has to do a fair chunk of video editing and exporting. By that I mean, there could be 6 to 10 major video based events at my place of work each year and I am the only one who "knows how" to edit video; and by that, I am the only one who is up for having a go and learning Premiere Pro purely from having a go.

Anyway, my old studio computer was a HP Omen 870-214na. This was originally purchased to quickly replace a studio machine that died a number of years back in the middle of a project. It was a fine machine, but limited. I converted it to passive cooling, but couldn't get the BIOS to stop throwing up no CPU fan errors. I put up with it for a few years anyway; I record and mix music, rather than use software instruments so my CPU and RAM needs are fairly modest. Once I started doing video editing, the CPU was hitting 85 degrees with the Nofan CR-80EH passive cooler, so I got a BeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4 and then it was max 44 degrees during the same 4k renders. It also idles at around 12 degrees C.

So, to the terrible week. I noticed that my 16GB of memory was being maxed out by Premiere. Given the interesting times we live in now, I took a boredom based risk and got 32GB of Crucial Ballistix RAM, I only went for that due to a good deal they had compared to "stock" RAM. I took the RAM out of the Omen, and one of the slots broke and the Omen motherboard died a short while later. The machine was bought used originally, so perhaps this was damage from that user.