Home NAS and Router(VPN)

Go to solution Solved by Electronics Wizardy,
5 minutes ago, Stin6667 said:

( 1st thanks for all the help) Okay so can I use btrfs with proxmox? Cause It sounds like a combination of the two would be ideal for what Im going for.

Are there any costs associated with either on?

yea you can use btrfs in proxmox, I think you have to make it in the cli though, but you can easily find the commands to make the filesystem online.

Proxmox is free.

HI

At the moment in the house each computer has at least a 512GB SSD and a 2TB for storage. and then We have a 6TB for mass storage. I want to make things more simple and streamlined. I also saw Level 1's(youtube) video about making your own router and what he showed peaked my interest and wanted to give that a try. So I want to merge both Ideas.

( just want to say I am a complete noob when it comes to networking, but this is my 1st project so I can learn)

What I am thinking of using:

An old workstation

-i5 2400 4 cores 4 threads, 3x 4X pie, 1x 16X

- 4 Sata ports ( one is a cd drive, because of my work we still need those... So when I need one. it is there)

-(adding) 3 10tb HDD ( 2 in the beginning and one more later)

-(adding) 6 port RJ45 2.5Gb pie nic ( the house only has cat 5e, and I can not install new cabling)

-(adding) wifi 6 or lower card

-(adding) M.2 to Pie card( hopefully dual) ( as a cache) 

-(adding) Sata M.2 2x 512gb or 2x 256gb

Software I am thinking of using:

Pfsence

FreeNas with btfs or Zfs

Kodi/plex

So the way I thing I am going to set it up:

1) Using FreeNas I will create 2 systems 1 for the NAS and 1 for the router.

- free nas will get 4 threads/cores 

-  The router will get 4 threads/cores

2) I will passthrough everything from the router to the NAS for the networking.

3) On the network I will make different folders for the different things I need. ie Document, Movies, Songs etc

This is as far  as I have gotten. 

Can this be done?