Soundcard recommendation?

Hello, I am new to the linus tech tips forums

I need a better soundcard, and/or software recommendation. using Realtek HD Audio Manager and having it set to Dolby Digital Live with the 5.1 surround going through my optical cable, it sounds amazing, compared to having it off. problem is if I set my headphones above about 50% it starts to get all choppy, and/or fizzy. but if I turn it down from 100% and bring my amp up to the same level, it doesn't, so I know it's my onboard sound, I think. also if I am playing a game like BF4 with the Realtek digital 5.1 thing on I get about 1/8 delay on all the sounds, so if someone could tell me if it's software or hardware that would also be awesome!

I'm very ignorant when It comes to soundcards, and considering I have two graphics cards, there is not really a place to put if without having to worry about heat. I have above my primary GPU (70-75C) in-between them, which I don't see a good idea in any way because It will be starving my primary gpu, and pickup up heat from the secondary one. and I have below my second gpu (59-63C)

I already have Astro A40s w/ the mixamp. that said, I have it receiving audio from my pc from the on-board optical cable, so if I am getting a soundcard, it needs to have optical. that amp also works as my pass-through for my Xbox 360 (yuck!) so that when I have one of my friends over I can actually play split screen games, and then it has the front amplified port for my Astros, and the pass-through un-amplified port for my speakers.

I'm only 16 and get about $100 every two weeks over the school year, that's about 1/4 I get over the summer, normally I would buy 5 different cards, determine which I like, and send back the ones I don't, but I don't have the budget for that, so I'm going to need some help with this. I have an idea what I want: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Zx soundcard (if I knew how to link I would)