Looking for assistance with setting up NAS System

I am looking into creating a NAS for home and work use.  This is something I haven't done before, so I have a couple questions I was hoping to get answered on a few things I would like to have the system do, and what I would need in order to do that.

1) I'll ask my biggest question first, which concerns potential work use for the machine.  I work as a programmer and I'd like to (if possible) set up a VM on the NAS for me to use remotely as my work environment.  The goal would be to have the VM set up on the NAS, make it so I can access it both from home and while in the office.  The whole reason I'd want to do everything on a VM would be so that I can set up a script that every night creates a backup of the VM in case something goes wrong somewhere and things explode, to put it simply.  The question for this area I guess is, would the performance of this VM be determined by the CPU/RAM that are in the NAS, or the CPU/RAM of whatever I am connecting to the VM with?  Essentially trying to figure out whether I need to go out and get a new powerful and expensive CPU, or if i'd be able to do with something cheaper.

2) Does anyone have any good components to recommend for this? I'd like for the system to not be huge, so I'd like to put things together in a Mini ITX, or Micro ATX sized case.  I'd also like to if possible have it setup with hot-swappable bays for the NAS drives, 6-8 preferably.  At the moment kind of wandering in the dark on what sort of components I should be looking for.

3) Does anyone have any suggestions for someone setting up a NAS for the first time?  It's always nice to learn from your own mistakes, but also nice when you don't have to stick your hand in a fire to find out what can burn you lol

Thanks to anyone who offers me some help with this, I really appreciate it.