Condenser mic too low? Is this normal?

dazzleshark
Go to solution Solved by dazzleshark,
10 minutes ago, Ryan_Vickers said:

Ah, yeah I like those.  Again though, I think that's quite overkill.  You could improve your sound a lot by just finding a way to keep your mic close to you.  You will be able to reduce the gain a lot, which will reduce background noise as well as hiss, and you will sound clearer with less echo.

yeah. for now im gonna try to play with the settings and find what works best. 

how about these settings? image.png.5c7f372e2a288de5f603e2a7a5543809.png

the louder parts are me being annoying and high pitched :D when i stopped speaking and recorded just me sitting there, there is just a line. it looks like there is no sounds but if i play it back its full of bg sounds image.png.a5b427c7b07741657196102a17359ac0.png is this normally how it works? 

mixer: IMG_20190826_160108.jpg.61516fc1520262caa3db0bb7dbbe61ba.jpg

Hi.

I'm a noob with sound stuff so I have to make a post. I tried to read some of the already existing ones but I didn't feel like they helped my situation.

So I thought I could try to post my own with my own setup and see if that does anything.

So I used to have a blue yeti, that was extremely loud and also had that constant background noise. At some point I sold it and got what I have now. Which ended up being the exact opposite. Its very low. People on discord would have me on 10% and now they have me 200%. Everyone has to have me 200%. 

It doesn't feel very normal. My windows microphone setting volume thingy, is 100%. 

My computer is old and I don't think there is a sound card, and if there is I got no idea what it is. 

Mic is Neewer nw-700 with an Alesis multimix 4 usb.

Settings on the multimix are: phantom power is on [otherwise mic doesn't produce sound at all], level almost full, gain almost 0. 

Mic is at the end of my desk, as far as most people I have seen on streams etc have it so I don't think that's the problem.