Looking to build an UnRaid server for video editing archival

Hi all,

Been a lurker on here for a while but finally looking to try and build my own big boy server and looking to see if I’m heading in the right direction.

I’m a Video Editor by trade, I make my money freelancing and need a much better solution for archival and offloading.

Currently I have a bunch of WD 10tb easystores that I have used for offloading stuff from my working drive to, and I have multiple backups of important stuff and am working on getting it all backup up to backblaze which of course is taking an eternity.

I have solid backups of my work drive, my two 2tb Samsung 860 evo’s are in raid 0 to make a 4tb drive and backed up twice locally daily and then a third time to the cloud continually. My goal is to build a server to host all these offloads. They would be low-read so speed is not important, I just need a better solution than a million different hard drives lying around. I just wanted to post here to see if I’m on the right track. Been searching the sub and trying to read as many threads as possible but just wanted a vote of confidence before I go ahead with this.

By my calculations I have roughly 70tb of hard drives with data on them. Some of those are redundant duplicated but likely around that much data. Many of them are 10tb easystores. Some are 6tb my books, and other random hard drives.

My plan is next time the easy stores are on sale, buy 4-5 more of them, install them into a server I build using parts from serverbuilds.net and then migrate the data from my currently used drives to those new drives and add drives as I can. I would like to use two parity drives also for security, but really this data is not mission critical. It’s all things that I need to hold on to but if I lose it is not devastating.