Anyone else find custom PC's boring now?

KarateHottie93

Quick Edit: Before you freak out...I've been on here since 2014 lol. I've been building PC's since 2010. Compared to then, it's definitely way harder to make a unique build at the highest end. Remember when TT got hate for "copying" Case Labs and Fractal? Nobody has their own design style anymore.

Every damn thing looks the same as everything else in it's price point. TG, minimalistic, RGB, blah blah blah.

Case shopping used to be so fun and now it's just bleh. Shopping for a motherboard used to be fun with different feature sets, heatsink designs and so on. Now everything on a given chip set is the same with a different I/O shield. Fortunately I stick to Asus WS boards but shit is just boring.

Fractal gets to make high end plain looking cases. In Win gets to make tempered glass cases. SilverStone gets to make plain looking aluminum cases. Thermaltake and BitFenix get to make cheap cases that look expensive but break easily. Everyone else...go back to being exciting! Hell even Raidmax makes plain boxes these days.

Galax/Sapphire fanboy for life!

Hall Of Fame ♕ Owner's Club

Always supporting Lyoto "The Dragon" Machida!

Motherboards aren't as bad as you say they are.

Asrock Taichi boards are kind of the polar opposite of MSI Gaming boards.

Finding good looking cases can be hard, but they definitely exist.

There is still diversity in the feature sets on motherboards. Most Intel boards have Thunderbolt 3 firmware updates available, AMD boards do not. Lower end boards do not support SLI. Some boards don't even support multiple GPUs. Some don't have M.2. Some don't have NVMe support.

Quote or tag me( @Crunchy Dragon) if you want me to see your reply

If a post solved your problem/answered your question, please consider marking it as "solved"

Community Standards // Join Floatplane!

1 minute ago, Crunchy Dragon said:

Motherboards aren't as bad as you say they are.