Custom Gaming Rig running lagging at 30fps

Darth_Vaepor
Go to solution Solved by k.m.p,

check msi afterburner, in the settings you can enable it to monitor tempureture and usage of cpu (including induvidual cores), gpu and memory, see which part is running at 100% or closest and that's likely the problem.

Its most likely your cpu is the culprit

So this is a somewhat complicated tech question. I'm a electronics troubleshooter by trade dealing with both hardware and software, fixing and replacing parts or programs as needed. However, there is one thing I can't figure out. I built a custom gaming tower a few years ago and its been working great. (specs below) but lately I've been having issues with most of my games clocking around 30fps with constant lag spikes and quality drops. I play games like 7 days to die, skyrim, and Rocket League. All with the same issue. I looked at my heat, and even under stressed loads in access of 3 hours, heat stays around 60 Celsius. I checked my hardware health and everything seems to be in order. I even ran several benchmarks and passed with flying colors. Nothing seems to point to an issue. Does anyone know of a detailed diagnostics tool (preferably cheap or free) that I can use to check the health of my ram, cpu, and graphics card? Are there any other places I should check for issues? Thank you to everyone who stops by and comments.

My biggest fear is buying my new motherboard and processor only to find out my graphics card is shot so I want to figure this out before I do my next upgrade.

Monitor

PG278Q Republic of Gamers Monitor at 2560x1440 @144fps - For some reason windows only recognizes it as a generic monitor now. Something about a screwy windows 10 update

Internals

GTX 1080 8gb graphics card

Sabertooth 990fx Motherboard with socketed AMD Fx 8150 Eight Core Processor

32Gb ram ddr3 @1600MHz on a dimm form factor

1000W power supply

Water cooling system, 6 125mm fans and 2 200mm fans with fan controllers

Storage