Xeon E5-2697 Motherboard Compatibility

Hi guys!

I recently was given an Intel Xeon e5-2697 from a friend who runs a bunch of servers and was just getting rid of some. I plan to build a new workstation around the processor. However, I am pretty new to the PC building world as I just built my first PC last year. I was looking at LGA 2011 boards and most all of them were advertised to support LGA 2011 based i7's. Right now I'm looking to get an ASUS Sabertooth x79 board, but I dont wanna drop $250 if the board and CPU are not compatible with the Xeon. Any help would be extremely appreciated!

1 minute ago, brinsonm said:

Hi guys!

I recently was given an Intel Xeon e5-2697 from a friend who runs a bunch of servers and was just getting rid of some. I plan to build a new workstation around the processor. However, I am pretty new to the PC building world as I just built my first PC last year. I was looking at LGA 2011 boards and most all of them were advertised to support LGA 2011 based i7's. Right now I'm looking to get an ASUS Sabertooth x79 board, but I dont wanna drop $250 if the board and CPU are not compatible with the Xeon. Any help would be extremely appreciated!

It will work with that motherboard with a proper BIOS update.

Just now, TheCherryKing said:

It will work with that motherboard with a proper BIOS update.

Thank You!!!!!

Just now, brinsonm said:

Thank You!!!!!

Glad to help. Keep in mind that ECC memory will not work with that motherboard. No need to worry since ECC memory is not required for a single Intel Xeon processor. 

1 minute ago, deXxterlab97 said:

1. Old gen stuff should be bought used, not new. That's a very high price for a used board

2. If you look at CPU compatibility list, your Xeon is there https://www.asus.com/ca-en/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_X79/HelpDesk_CPU/

That's how much it costs used on ebay. Cheapest I could find 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/391886517150

5 hours ago, TheCherryKing said: