Choke point, what to upgrade?

Hi! I'm new to PC gaming but iv'e learned alot latley according to pc builds (it's addictive) jokes aside i have a question i hope you guys can help me with instead of running around the webb searching for my problem :) 

I have a Acer Predator g3-605 1,5gb.  1tb hard drive 8gb of ram and i switched out the nvidia 760 graphics card for a new ASUS rog strix gtx1060 oc 6gb gpu. As you may guess i wanted to run my games smooth on higher graphics since who doesn't want that? :D 

But when i installed the gpu and set eveything up i still game on the same fps with the same settings with my new gpu. So i started to wonder "well clearly it semms like my cpu and motherboard is maxed out" Since i know that if the cpu doesn't support the gpu's power the cpu cuts the power on the gpu to be able to handle the information process.

I have an i5 4460 cpu (factory component) such as the rest of the pc except the gpu. To what my research have told me i have a FCLGA1150 socket and i wonder if i can just find any better cpu with that socket? or do i have to upgrade well both motherboard and cpu? Is it possible that there are other factors playing part of my problem?

If you have the time and awnser i would appreciate the help since iv'e only own anything about pc gaming since November 2016 so this rookie needs a pro tip!

Operating System
 Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU
 Intel Core i5 4460 @ 3.20GHz 32 °C
 Haswell 22nm Technology
RAM
 8,00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 799MHz (11-11-11-28)
Motherboard
 Acer Predator G3-605 (LGA1150) 35 °C
Graphics
 2470W (1920x1080@60Hz)
 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB (ASUStek Computer Inc) 37 °C
Storage
 931GB Western Digital WDC WD10EZEX-21M2NA0 (SATA) 31 °C
Optical Drives
 MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ8E0
Audio
 Realtek High Definition Audio

i copy pasted from information i got from the speccy program i hope that's what you meant me to do haha, thank you for fast awnser it's appreciated!

Edited by Lukas Dolk