Best Amateur Editing Software?

So I am an amateur and I feel like I need something more than iMovie(Im on OS X) but my budget is only like $50. I want something that a lot of people use so that if I am confused I can find a video/forum.

DaVinci Resolve 12, Free (on both Windows and OSX)

HitFilms Express (not sure if you can use it on OSX)

LightWorks Free (not sure about OSX support)

Guide: DSLR or Video camera?, Guide: Film/Photo makers' useful resources, Guide: Lenses, a quick primer

Nikon D4, Nikon D800E, Fuji X-E2, Canon G16, Gopro Hero 3+, iPhone 5s. Hasselblad 500C/M, Sony PXW-FS7

ICT Consultant, Photographer, Video producer, Scuba diver and underwater explorer, Nature & humanitarian documentary producer

I would recommend Adobe Premiere Pro. By far the easiest once you've learned the basic.

It probably will go over budget, but there may be ways of getting older versions a different way :)

CPU: I7 4790K(4.6@1.252v)                               Case: Fractal Design Define R5 Windowed(Black)           Cooler: CM 212 EVO + NF F12 iPPC

RAM: HyperX Fury 1600MHZ CL10 2x4GB      Storage: Samsung 850 EVO(250GB) + WD Red(2TB)      PSU: Corsair RM750 (and no, it hasn't blown up!)

MoBo: Asus Maximus VII Ranger                      Graphics: MSI GTX 970 TwinFrozr (1494MHZ Core)       OS: Windows 10 Enterprise

I have been using Resolve for some stuff, and it seems to work very well. Its free.

So thanks for reading guys, if this post sucked, I'm not sure what you can do, but if you liked it, go 'head and hit that like button, or maybe add me as a friend. Otherwise, go subscribe to LinusTechTips on YouTube, follow them on Twitch, follow @LinusTech on Twitter, and support them by using their affiliate code on Amazon, buying a cool T-shirt, or supporting them directly on this community forum.

23 hours ago, ALwin said:

DaVinci Resolve 12, Free (on both Windows and OSX)

HitFilms Express (not sure if you can use it on OSX)