My CPU (& GPU) Temperatures

Recently i finished my first gaming build. As a computer novice, i have several questions and a lot of them revolve around CPU and GPU temperatures. My wish is to run as fast and smoothly as possible so as to stop having to open and work on my computer as much as i have recently and finally relax.

My specs: 

I5-4590

EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+

8 GB RAM

Cooler Master Elite 130

When at the desktop (what i think is termed as idle) both the CPU and GPU hang around the 40 degree celsius mark, with little 1 second spikes from the CPU whenever i open something (which i assume is normal). When i've played the following games, the numbers have been (for CPU and GPU respectively...

Left 4 Dead 2: 50ish and 60ish i think

TF2: About the same

CS GO: 55-60 and 70ish if i remember correctly

Bioshock Infinite: 60ish (topping at 70) and 80

(All these games played at the highest values as optimized by Geforce Experience)

I want to be able to play without constantly worrying so my questions revolve around..

- What do you think of these numbers?

- Can adjusting fan speed to GPU temperature values help? If so, how do i do that with MSI Afterburner?

- Considering it's a small case, what alternative CPU fan could i use that could fit in my case and provide a superior cooling to the stock Intel fan?

- The case has 2 fans and it's size makes provides little elbow room, what's the best we can do to optimize the temperatures?

I want to be able to get GTA 5, MGS 5, Fallout 4, Star Wars Battlefront, and play them all in peace when the time comes.

Thanks for your help  :)

In addition, i've recently stumbled upon a kernel driver NVidia error, seems to be a popular thing, would anyone know what to do by any chance? Has happened about 3 times to me today (first times) only when using chrome.