Overclocking i5-4670k, problems

So in short... Yesterday i got my cpu cooler a 212 evo and decided to try some overclocking(bear in mind this is my first time doing it)

[spoiler=setup]

i5-4670k

MSI Z87-G55

Cruical 8GB (2x4) 1600Mhz 

Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler

R9 280x windforce

and some other stuff not crucial for this

[/spoiler]

The two main questions is, am I bad at overclocking or did i get a bad CPU? And have i applied the thermal paste wrong? 

So too start of with the first question

I tried to see if i could boot into windows with a 1,2 core voltage and a 45 multiplier.. could not, so i tried 44 and so on. Could at 42 but that wasn't stable. So after some tweaking I could get it to 41 and 1.1 core voltage(wasn't able to get 42 stable in anyway). But while running Prime95 it would constantly crash (that is if i ran large FFT, everything else ran fine), I even tried go for 1.4 core voltage but still wasn't stable, crashed in like 1 minute if not less. So basically, is my CPU a really bad one or am I doing something wrong? Btw the only settings I've tweaked is core voltage and multiplier the rest is set to default, meaning auto

As for the second question when I applied the thermal compund that came with the 212 evo I used about 2-3 centimeters, is that too much? And also I wasn't able to apply the cooler correctly the first try so I took it off once or twice and also i accidentally moved it around some. Should I redo it with less thermal compound and in a better way or let it be?

Temp in my room: 20-21

CPU temp idle:      36-37

Under load:           70

Max under load:    75-76

CPU fan RPM:       750

Very thankful for any response, will try to respond as quickly as possible but as of now I will try to get a stable overclock

Also sorry if I misspelled of used incorrect grammar, English isn't my native language