How much will a Q9550 bottleneck a GTX 780

Hello guys, I'm a newbie and I have a question for you. Now before you all shoot me, this is just a theoretical situation.

I have this motherboard and this graphics card and 8GBs of Kingston DDR2 800MHz RAM. I was wondering how much would a GTX 780 be bottlenecked by the Q9550? Would I get like 5-10% less performance or more like 40-50% less performance from the GPU? I am not planing to upgrade to a GTX 780 because I don't have the money and I actually find my GTX 560 Ti to be still a nice graphics card, but I was just curious what would happen, so to speak.

Because not all games use four or more CPU cores, do they? I am aware that the architecture of a CPU is important, but I don't think that Q9550 is a bad CPU for gaming, it's still a quad-core and it still has 12MBs of cache, albeit Level 2, but still 12MBs. People tend to think that as soon as a new CPU generation comes out, the old generation is utterly useless and that it should die a fiery death, with which I disagree. I would take my Q9550 over any new Core i3, for example, it's just a better CPU despite being like 4/5 generations old.

By the way, my CPU is at stock speeds, but I can overclock it to 3.4GHz if needed :).

I've heard that this community is very friendly, that's why I asked this here, I hope I won't get shot. Everybody feel free to chime in with your opinions, every opinion is welcomed. Let's kinda all talk about this here and share our opinions, eh?

well linus actually did some tests

even running with a single core there was only a small performance difference,though it is a 3930K core.

so I would say in gpu dependent games,there will be little loss of fps.

in cpu dependent games you may have significantly lower minimum and lower average fps than the card should otherwise have.

Linus Sebastian said:

The stand is indeed made of metal but I wouldn't drive my car over a bridge made of it.

https://youtu.be/X5YXWqhL9ik?t=552