Ports

sgtsmokey

I am studying games development at the moment and I am using Unreal 4 there, but I also own Cry engine as well and this applies to most engines. A game engine which makes games for console on a PC has the option when packaging the game ready for distrubution. Has the option to export to Playstation, Xbox, Android, Ios and PC, nothing needs porting with these engines as it is made the same way and then exported out to cater for the different platforms its that simple.

I have always known that porting is when they design a game for console it needs to be re-coded for PC, but with new engines that doesn't need to happen because the engine is built for that purpose and is done automatically. So how do people claim that the PC version is a console port if it uses an engine that supports this facility?

I hope you understand as it seems difficult to explain. 

• Laptop: MSI GF65 + 16GB + 1.2TB + 2060 GTX + i7 9750H Display: 24" LG Ultra Gear 144hz Keyboard: Logitech G213 Mouse: Corsair Harpoon Sound Card: Traktor Kontrol S2 MK2 Speakers: Behringer CR4-X Other: Gaomon Graphics Tablet COOLING: Thermaltake Massive S14 Laptop Cooler

I don't mind ports, though, to be honest.

Just as long as the game runs well on appropriate hardware, and is efficient and utilizes the benefits of the platform it's on, there's really no reason to complain.

People complain about things like interfaces and the like, but you can just throw a controller at their faces because they're stupid.

I think what people have a problem with, that is valid, is when a game comes to PC and it operates poorly, often requiring more than necessary hardware because optimization never occurred. When a game runs at low frame-rates and resolutions despite PC being a more than capable platform to at least deliver a 48fps and 1080p experience, minimum.

Because not all games use Unreal 4 or Cry Engine?