Size on drive vs size in disk management

Go to solution Solved by TechyBen,
6 minutes ago, DVA said:

Did you...did you keep them? :o

Nah. I want to be honest. Amazon may not be the best in their treatment to people, but 2 wrongs don't make a right. I also worked in retail, and know sometimes it's easy to pick the wrong box (model numbers are insanely annoying!). Sent them back. Who knows, perhaps it will make someone smile in their horrid warehouses. If not, I know it's all cool with me. :)

PS, I see it is an Intel drive. I read the OP as adding the drive to an existing system? If it's only got the Intel, seems a packing error, or a fake. This may help: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/28234?v=t

Wait, what? How did it resize? Lol.

I recently added an intel SSD6 256GB to my setup. The NVMe is 256GB - it says so on the box and on the label. However, in Windows disk management, the disk is shown to be around 450GB in size.

Can anyone explain the nearly double size and how I can format it to 256GB (Windows is stubborn that it MUST be formatted to 450 or so GB)? From my experience in my younger years (with floppy disks), it is highly inadvisable to format a disk bigger than the designated size on the package?

you could check the sku on the drive. it might be you lucked out and got a larger drive than you were supposed to.

in terms of formatting a disk i would think there would not be any problems. formatting is just formatting really. unless someone can prove me wrong?

CPU AMD 5800x_____Asus Crosshair VIII_____Asus Strix LC 360_____RAM Corsair Dominator Pro 2x8Gb 3600mhz_____ASUS RTX 3080 Strix

PSU Corsair HX1000w_____CASE Lian Li 011 Dynamic (original choice right? w/9 UNI Fans)_____Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma_____Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma_____Headphones Bose QC25_____Monitor (1) Acer Predator XB1 144hz G-Sync  (2) Benq 144hz G-Sync

Microphone Blue Yeti Black

Razer Blade 14

Also an XBOX one s.