How to invest in Cryptocurrencies?

Hey guys, I am completely new to the world of cryptocurrencies but for some time now I have wanted to learn more about trading and honestly just buying and holding for a while to see if I can make some money.

My question is that very often I see online a list of the coins that are going up the fastest, like for example today XPM has been going up ~160% in the past 24 hours. So I guess what I am thinking is, surely if everyone is seeing that why would't it be recommended to put say £1000 on XPM first thing in the morning and sell in the evening. Surely you would more than double your money in almost no time. So is this stupid or would that make sense? Because I see everywhere that this market is very volatile and that you can loose money very quickly but for something like XPM which had been pretty much level for a while would it be silly to try and make that much money in a day?

I am just trying to understand why doing something that seems relatively easy may be deceptive.

Thanks a lot for your help!

Dell XPS 15 9560 - Nikon Z5 - Galaxy S10+

Never looked into it, but that is the general idea, like in real life. Buy when it's cheap and sell when it's expensive. The problem is that everyone with you wants  to sell when it's high, so I think the first "deceptive" part is that you'll have to balance your profits with the price at which people will still buy them from you.

Crystal: CPU: i7 7700K | Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix Z270F | RAM: GSkill 16 GB@3200MHz | GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE | Case: Corsair Crystal 570X (black) | PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 1000W | Monitor: Asus VG248QE 24"

Laptop: Dell XPS 13 9370 | CPU: i5 10510U | RAM: 16 GB

Server: CPU: i5 4690k | RAM: 16 GB | Case: Corsair Graphite 760T White | Storage: 19 TB

how to invest, make an account at cryptoexchange and buy it like you buy anything else.