Ryzen 5 2400G vs Intel core i5 8400

AMD Build

CPU: Ryzen 5 2400G

RAM: G.Skill Trident Z (Non-RGB) 3200Mhz 8gb (2x4gb)

Mobo: MSI Mortar B350m

SSD: Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NVME

Intel Build

CPU: Intel Core i5 8400

RAM: Crucial Ballistix 2666Mhz 8gb (1x8gb)

Mobo: MSI Bazooka B360m

SSD: Samsung 960

Hi guys, I think this is my first time posting here, I would like to have your opinion regarding these 2 build. As you can see above I have both build for AMD and Intel but I can't think of which of the 2 should I get.

First, the premise on why I need a new system is that I truly need an upgrade as my system is 5 year behind (generation wise) and 3 years old (physically) I can't do much heavy work on my current system.

I am planning to toy around my system by doing these stuff

• virtual laboratory for testing purposes, at least four concurrent VMs active (server and client things)
  • some android programming, some testing and self study
  • game development, again just for the fun of it a light 3D or 2D stuff. 
  • and of course gaming

My worry is:

1. If I run many VMs the Intel has few cores and threads compared to AMD

2. I will be using the iGPU for a while as the GPU prices are incredibly mind blowingly high

3. The upgrade path

Speaking of the upgrade path my plan is to buy a GTX 1060 6gb or 1050 ti.

In these case the Intel build is much cheaper than the AMD build.

In the AMD build my upgrade path is:

1. Sell the CPU and upgrade to Ryzen 5 1600 (for more cores and threads)

In the Intel build:

1. Sell the CPU and upgrade to Core i7 8700

2. Upgrade the CPU cooler

3. Add another RAM for Dual channel configuration

My questions are:

1. If I go with the Intel build, in upgrading the RAM, should I buy another stick of the same brand for dual channel or should I sell it and buy dual channel kit? Which is better?