I am soundphobe, help!

HunterScott
Go to solution Solved by kilgore_T,

my mate recommends this

Gaming Audio Series™ SP2500 High-power 2.1 PC Speaker System

me.... I would get a cheap focusrite scarlett and a pair of Yamaha studio monitors

I have very little knowledge about anything audio based, and have been for the past couple of years, been using a cheap edifier 2.1 set up for my sound needs.

Recently, the sound from my meager little set up has started becoming tinny and distorted, so I do believe that an upgrade is needed. When possible (mainly when the kid is not asleep) I do like to play games and watch videos using my sound system rather than via my headset.

So here is my predicament, I have a budget of around £400 and need to purchase whatever sound equipment I may require to have a decent little set-up. Surround sound isn't desirable, potentially a small 2 speaker or 2.1 set up. I had a hope of maybe a small amp/pre-amp - speaker set up, but I literally have zero knowledge about sound hardware. Researching sound equipment also tends to make me more confused as to what I would actually need!

Thank you in advance for any help!

“The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence.”
― Charles Bukowski

Desktop | Intel Core i5 - 7600k | ASUS Strix B250F | MSI GeForce GTX 1080Ti x Gaming 11G | 256GB Samsung Evo | x2 WD Blue 1TB | Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8GB)

Mini Desktop | Mac Mini | Core i7 2.3GHz | 8GB RAM | 1TB HDD x2

Laptop | MacBook Pro 13in w/Touch bar (2016) | Intel Core i7 | 8GB LPDDR3 | 1TB SSD

Laptop | Lenovo Thinkpad Edge | Intel Core i5 | 16GB DDR3 | 256GB SSD

Peripherals | Razer Chroma Orbweaver | Magic Mouse 2 | Corsair K70 RGB | Logitech G402 | Blue Snowball | Logitech G922 | Logitech Artemis Spectrum G933

Galaxy Tab S2 - used as a media streamer, more often abused by my 1 year old son.

my mate recommends this