[Finished] "Carbonation" First [serious] build ::: Orange Prodigy ::: Tons of pictures!

orangefurball

upa6u6ez.jpg

Hello all,

***please see my later posts for more photos of the progress! Here is a link to the finished build! Thanks!***

This is my first build log, I'm relatively new to the forum, but not new to computers or LinusTechTips. That being said, if I'm doing something wrong with this please let me know. I haven't read many logs on here, but the ones I have seen blow this out of the water. But I figured I would post anyway.

The specs aren't very powerful;

An i5-2310 CPU (Sandy Bridge)
An AsRock H61-MV motherboard
A HIS Radeon HD 7870 GHz GPU
8 GB RAM (2 x 4 GB 1600MHz)
120GB Boot SSD (Windows 8.1)
64GB Linux SSD (Linux Mint)
1TB Windows Storage

All of that wrapped up in a lightly modded Bitfenix Prodigy.

The power supply I'm using is sort of embarrassing. The power supply and CPU are two components that I have carried over from my first build, the Orange Furball V1. There's no log for that and thankfully no pictures, but they have worked well and do what I ask. So I can't justify spending the money on them. Plus I don't have it to spend.

Anyway, its a Corsair CX-500 500W power supply. It was cheap and I do plan on replacing it when I have the money and time to sleeve it. Speaking of sleeving I did do a custom single wire sleeve job on this. It was my first attempt. This build is sort of a culmination of firsts all leading to system that does what I want without making me lose the clothes on my back. The sleeving isn't that good, but it looks decent. One thing I can't figure out is how everyone always gets the 24 pin cables to appear so straight. Mine are a jumbled mess.