PC made out of actual garbage.

Wailmer

Hi Guys, I wanted to share a truly awful PC build I did. It's made out of actual garbage.

Here's the parts list to start out with:

CPU: AMD FX-8350 WHY IS IT GARBAGE? This CPU came from a friend's PC. It blue screened all the time and then got some bent pins when examined. He upgraded and was going to throw it away.

MOBO: Some ASUS board I have no idea what kind. 970 FX chipset (I think) WHY IS IT GARBAGE? Mobo from friend who was tossing the CPU. Assumed bad.

RAM: 4 x 2 GB sticks of old DDR3 WHY IS IT GARBAGE? Memory pulled from work PCs that were headed to the recycling center (I work in IT, I can't take whole PCs but I can pull some working components)

COOLER: Random CPU cooler pulled from a dead HP Z620 workstation WHY IS IT GARBAGE? The old Z620 workstation was getting recycled, so I pulled the cooler.

GPU: I started building this PC with a Quadro 4000 from the same Z620 that the cooler came from. When it didn't have the outputs I needed to test the PC I swapped it for a friend's old R7 260X WHY IS IT GARBAGE? The Quadro 4000 would thermal shut down (thanks, Fermi) and was a big reason the Z620 was getting recycled (and it was super old) The 260X was replaced with a 970 long ago.

PSU: EVGA 500 watt WHY IS IT GARBAGE? It's not, I just had it laying around from an old build.

STORAGE: Adata 120 GB SSD WHY IS IT GARBAGE? It's not, I just wanted an SSD and 120 GB was good enough for testing

So how did I fix the parts? I took everything apart. Cooler off of the GPU (I did the same thing for both), heatsinks off of the mobo, pretty much just stripping down everything. Then I hit everything with brake cleaner. This stuff is great, it will take everything off while drying quickly and leaving no residue. I reapplied fresh thermal paste to everything and it all worked great. I fixed the pins on the CPU and everything worked great.

Why an Amazon box for the case? I thought it was funny.