Blast From [My] Past: '98

EthanBE

So I'm a college freshman, and today I received a BusinessWeek magazine from my dad, with a note saying it was "out of [my] time capsule." I was born August, 1998, and this edition is from July 27, 1998. Unfortunately, a quick google search yielded no digital copies. Inside are various advertisements and articles, as follows:

an advert. for "The AMD-K6-2 Processor with 3DNow! Technology," with an assertion that it outperforms Intel's Pentium II processor.

a "bulletin board" (probably a form of native advertising) about a $400 RealPort card from Xircom, which offers an "elegant solution" to these "special adapters, known as "dongles," into which you plug your network cable and sometimes your phone line, [which] are awkward--and they are forever getting lost." It says: "The RealPort is an extra-thick Type III card that will fill both the card slots on a typical notebook computer." And, you know, I'm sitting here thinking "what the fuck is a card slot?" I mean, it's kinda intuitive what it would be, but I've never dealt with one on a laptop.

there's also a bulletin about the 'new' ATA standard ("also confusingly known as EIDE"), and it's relative superiority over SCSI, featuring "up to 16.8 gigabytes." Personally, I've dealt with IDE only once, when I way fooling around with my grandparents' old Pentium 4 machine.

another advertisement for Toshiba's Libretto 100CT laptop, featuring a "166MHZ Pentium processor,... the support of two Type II or one Type III PC Card, optional modem or CD-ROM. It's all there." It says it is "compatible with a monstrous 2.1 billion byte hard drive" and 'just 8.3" x5.2" x1.4"'

a somewhat sparse ad for an IMB AS-400e, "Hot Apps" server, "serving up an assortment of Java apps." Unfortunately, the included web address www.as400.ibm.com/hotapps4 redirects to the IBM home page.