Random Performance Drop

princemc

Hey everyone,

I've been running this build for about 3 years now with minimal hiccups preventing me from playing any games. I recently got into overclocking as I improved the cooling in my PC. I haven't had any issues with my overclock for several months until now, and I'm not even sure if that is the issue.

The build I'm running is;

AMD Athlon x4 760k Overclocked to 4.1Ghz (4.5Ghz Turbo)

AMD Radeon Sapphire R7 260x Overclocked with MSI Afterburner (Core Clock: 1200 Memory Clock: 1550 Core Voltage +10)

MSI A78M-E35

8 GB Ballistix Sport DDR3 Ram

I haven't had any real issues in games so far until yesterday after I downloaded Life is Strange on Steam. After opening the game I had absolutely terrible performance and could barely even play the game even on the lowest settings. After that, I launched several other games to test if it was global or simply game optimization issues with that specific game. Gauntlet: Slayer Edition also showed me horrible performance (not a very graphics intense game imo). Finally this brought me to Overwatch, in which I launched the game and was getting 3 FPS on the main screen.

I checked for driver updates, installed the newest one as of yesterday and it was somewhat better performing on Overwatch but still very choppy with a lot of framerate spikes. I noticed while playing these various games that my GPU usage was high (80%-100%) while my CPU usage remained low in all three games. Not sure if that has anything to do with it but I figured it was something worth noting.

Again, I had no issues until yesterday. The only new software I installed was Life is Strange. I've never had a game installation cause problems across the board. I was not having any performance issues two days ago, but since yesterday I have been having these problems. I've checked for updates on everything I can possibly think of so I know nothing is out of date causing any optimization issues.