Company blocked internet access through Firefox

dankarlo
Go to solution Solved by dankarlo,

Tested it my pc with firewall outbound rule blocking firefox.exe. The portable with renamed exe worked like a charm.

Hey guys, this is Austin (it isn't :)) ,

My company recently blocked any internet access from Firefox. The only options are IE, Edge (for win10 users) and Chrome.

I've been using FF for 13-14 years already. I've used the other options and I am not very keen on them mainly because of the customized environment I've created in FF.

There is the option to use RDP but I will have to move all of my work things at home and sync everything.

I am wondering how are the IT guys blocking the connection. Is it through the firewall with .exe filter or another SW can do that?

If they are doing it on a .exe basis, is there a way to disguise the firefox executable, so it will go through?

Your help is highly appreciated!

Can you not use something else, like Opera?

i7-12700k | MSI PRO Z690-A DDR4 | 2x16GB Team Group DDR4-3200CL14 | be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 | EVGA FTW3 2070 SUPER | 500GB Samsung 970 EVO Plus | 4TB Seagate Barracuda 5400RPM | Fractal Design Meshify C

1 minute ago, idiot42 said:

Can you not use something else, like Opera?

Nope, they said these are the 3 supported options.

1 minute ago, dankarlo said:

Hey guys, this is Austin (it isn't :)) ,

My company recently blocked any internet access from Firefox. The only options are IE, Edge (for win10 users) and Chrome.

I've been using FF for 13-14 years already. I've used the other options and I am not very keen on them mainly because of the customized environment I've created in FF.

There is the option to use RDP but I will have to move all of my work things at home and sync everything.

I am wondering how are the IT guys blocking the connection. Is it through the firewall with .exe filter or another SW can do that?