NAS/Home Server Build

Hello everyone,

It's my first time posting here in the forum so I'm not sure whether I'm on the right page or not.  I guess for background info about me.  I am a college student, studying computer engineering, in Ontario Canada and living with my parents still.  Since my program has coop in it, i want to have this as my own project since i like to tinker with computers.

Anyhow, I'm interested in building a centralized computer but not quite sure whether its a NAS or Home Server.  Its main purpose is to act as a main storage for media(music movies etc) and as a backup for my family(family photos for every member, work, school stuff etc).  I plan on having the media accessible for others to stream it, such as my family and guests, and have the family backup only accessible for family members only.

I'm looking for input/ideas on how to set this computer up and not quite sure if this will be a NAS or Home Server. It will be mostly used for streaming(like a NAS) and I plan on doing monthly backups(like a home server).  In addition, I might just turn this machine on when needed and won't be leaving it running 24/7 because it might have a huge impact on our electricity bill.

I found a post by Ssoele for an 8-bay NAS build (post name: Getting started with a NAS) which i find as a really good starting point for this build.  The only thing i might just change is the case, CPU, motherboard and the power supply

The only thing i require in this computer is to have these drives in RAID 5 or 6 and will probably start with 4 x 4TB WD RED.  As for my initial questions:

1.  What OS(Windows Server, FreeNAS, etc) should i set this up?

2.  If 4 HDDs are required to run RAID 5/6, is it possible to add more drives(4tb WD Red) in the future?

3.  Would i benefit by a lot if i change the CPU/Motherboard to a Haswell CPU and haswell compatible motherboard in terms of power?