Best upgrade path for my gaming pc?

My current computer has:
AMD FX 6300

GTX 750ti

6gb RAM

1tb Hard Drive

600w PSU

I was wondering what is the cheapest or most efficient way to get the best performance, i don't really want to change my motherboard.

No real budget, but I'm a student so I don't really want to spend a ridiculous amount, maybe around 500 is my limit for upgrades but i can go higher

I would add an SSD for sure, nothing to big, like a boot 120 gb would do and it could store a little extra stuff aswell. Something like Sk Hynix. It will drastically decrease the load/boot time for what you store on it

Howdy,

I was in the same pair of shoes as yourself just a couple months ago.  Was running an AMD FX 6350 but my problem was not the CPU but the mobo.  Since I figured I had so much invested in the system and just limited resources to pay for the fix I knew that I would have to replace the mobo but if I was going to replace the mobo, I might as well also upgrade the cpu too.

So I went with an ASUS TUF Sabertooth FX990 3.0 mobo and....

an AMD FX 8370.

That way I didn't have to replace the 32gigs of ram that I already have, the PSU, or the HDD.  I'm sure this setup will last quite a while (years I hope) so my next upgrade is to go with an AIO cooler and a new vid card.

Take care and Good Luck.

PS.  If you do decide to go with an 8350 or 8370, be sure to get a nice cooler, the 8370 that I have does produce quite a bit of heat.  I have three fans in and two fans out so that I can maintain static pressure inside the case to help cut down on dust, etc., along the way.

22 minutes ago, TheChosenTwo said:

I would add an SSD for sure, nothing to big, like a boot 120 gb would do and it could store a little extra stuff aswell. Something like Sk Hynix. It will drastically decrease the load/boot time for what you store on it