Laravel 5.4 get user password on login

Joveice

Hi I'm still learning laravel and I'm not sure what I'm looking for at this moment.

I'm creating this "offline" password vault and I need to get the password in plaintext so I can use it to encrypt and decrypt the users app passwords.User passwords are still stored as hash in the database as I do not want to store the user password encrypted or in plaintext. I'm then taking the plaintext password that I got on login and saving it encrypted in the session where I can then grab it later when needed for encrypting and decrypting.

How can I do this? I'm using the default laravel auth.

Also if there are some better ways to do this please let me know, my idea is to store the users app passwords encrypted with their own password and not a global one.

Back-end developer, electronics "hacker"

Just to be sure I understand correctly,

You're creating an laravel app, call it XYZ. The user will have an account with a password for XYZ. The user will store other password in it, like password for Bank account, etc...

You want to use the XYZ account password in plaintext to encrypt the Bank account password?

3 minutes ago, Severin said:

Just to be sure I understand correctly,

You're creating an laravel app, call it XYZ. The user will have an account with a password for XYZ. The user will store other password in it, like password for Bank account, etc...

You want to use the XYZ account password in plaintext to encrypt the Bank account password?

Yes, and the XYZ account password will be stored in the session encrypted each login and deleted on logout (I already know how to do that)

EDIT:

So all I need is how I can grab the password on login

I'm not an expert in web encryption, but why not use the hash version of the XYZ accout password to encrypt?

Just now, Severin said:

I'm not an expert in web encryption, but why not use the hash version of the XYZ accout password to encrypt?