Recovering data form virus infested hard drive

Kurt101
Go to solution Solved by dnf,

boot into a live linux distro with good antivirus. kasperky has a pretty good solution https://support.kaspersky.com/viruses/rescuedisk. Try to use the shittiest pc you have, incase of acidental boot into windows.

A relative has asked me to retrieve data from his/hers computer. I am more then happy to help, however i am concerned that the my computer may get infected as i know his/hers hard drive is teeming with viruses. And the only way i can retrieve any data is by inserting his/hers hard drive into my computer. What would be the best way to retrieve the data, without the risk of viruses? Kind regards (btw, his/hers computer is dead).

im no expert but doing it in safe mode should be fine? Maybe :P

Main system:

i7 6700k @4.8ghz 1.45v

ROG Maximus Hero VIII

Gigabyte G1 980ti Sli @1500 ghz

Samsung 950 pro 512gb

16gb G.Skill Ripjawz V @3400mhz 

Corsair H115i 280mm AIO

Corsair 400c Case

Corsair RM1000i

Backup/Older/Toys:

Intel i3 6100 @4.6ghz 1.52v

Asrock B150M Pro4/Hyper

Intel 750 series 400gb

Radeon Rx 470 XFX

Thermaltake Water 3.0 360mm AIO 

inWin 303 case

AMD Phenom II x4 940 @3.9ghz 1.65v

Gigabyte 780g mobo

Corsair H100 240mm AIO

Corsair Dominiator 8gb DDR2 @1066

Evga GTX 750ti FTW @1450mhz

Thermaltake Matrix case (modded)

"The best way to look stylish on a budget is to try second-hand, bargain hunting, and vintage" 

Just now, dnf said:

boot into a live linux distro with good antivirus. kasperky has a pretty good solution https://support.kaspersky.com/viruses/rescuedisk. Try to use the shittiest pc you have, incase of acidental boot into windows.

I only have 1 computer, i suppose i am going to need to be very careful. Thanks for the information. Kind regards