New house, two new builds

Hi everyone!

I am building an addition on my house and I'm looking for input. I used to be an avid computer builder, modder, and overclocker more than 10 years ago. Life got busy and I haven't built anything since :(.

I'm looking to build two computers for my wife and I to use. I have an equipment room with two 44u racks (plenty of space). I need a rack mount case for her build. I also want to output the computer signal to my media room, office, and Zwift room. I am planning on mirroring the screen to all displays unless someone has a better idea. 

Uses:

CAD (Solidwork/Inventor)  - me only

Ripping movies to server   - me only

Gaming (mostly Zwift http://zwift.com/what-is-zwift)

General internet and office activities 

My screens will be:

Epson 5040ub projector (Media Room)

2x - 45-55 inch UHD curve (Zwift room)

2x - 40 inch UHD (Office)

I live in California (USD$) and I'd like to spend under $2,000 for both computers combined. I am willing to go a little higher if the gains are worth it. 

Attached is a picture of my floor plan. If you have any questions let me know. Thanks for the help!

floor plan todd.jpg

Bro this sounds really lit. Keep the photos coming. 

I'm assuming you got inspiration from Linus's "Personal Rig Update" video series but if you haven't seen it then defiantly give it a look because it'll solve most of the problems you'll have connecting the computers to their respective screens. 

Welcome to the forum!

That looks like a pretty ambitious project. I don't know much about rack mount cases but given your budget and workload, you should do i7-6700K or similar 8 threaded monster for the CAD computer (OC it if able), and i5-6500 for the other one. Xeon equivalents are an option too, whenever they're better priced.

If you wait a month, we're expecting a new generation of AMD CPUs - the first in 5 years. They could prove to be great performers.