6 Month Build

NickToye

So I want to build a decent system.  Not just for gaming, but for general use also.

By day I am a front end developer and my gf is a graphic designer - so we are both Mac users, and sometimes the iMac we have is occupied.  So I wanted to have a PC I can use for developing on, and of course for gaming too. ;)

I earn a decent salary, but I don't really want to be dropping a lot of my salary to buy all the best components in one go - I'd rather do it over a period of time.

So my first questions is, can that be done, or could I fall into the trap of components becoming obsolete?

Second questions is, what would be a good starter case and motherboard?

Thanks.

wait for zen amd's new cpus. they will be coming out in early 2017. 

Good luck, Have fun, Build PC, and have a last gen console for use once a year. I should answer most of the time between 9 to 3 PST

NightHawk 3.0: R7 5700x @, B550A vision D, H105, 2x32gb Oloy 3600, Sapphire RX 6700XT  Nitro+, Corsair RM750X, 500 gb 850 evo, 2tb rocket and 5tb Toshiba x300, 2x 6TB WD Black W10 all in a 750D airflow.
GF PC: (nighthawk 2.0): R7 2700x, B450m vision D, 4x8gb Geli 2933, Strix GTX970, CX650M RGB, Obsidian 350D

Skunkworks: R5 3500U, 16gb, 500gb Adata XPG 6000 lite, Vega 8. HP probook G455R G6 Ubuntu 20. LTS

Condor (MC server): 6600K, z170m plus, 16gb corsair vengeance LPX, samsung 750 evo, EVGA BR 450.

Spirt  (NAS) ASUS Z9PR-D12, 2x E5 2620V2, 8x4gb, 24 3tb HDD. F80 800gb cache, trueNAS, 2x12disk raid Z3 stripped

PSU Tier List      Motherboard Tier List     SSD Tier List     How to get PC parts cheap    HP probook 445R G6 review

"Stupidity is like trying to find a limit of a constant. You are never truly smart in something, just less stupid."

Camera Gear: X-S10, 16-80 F4, 60D, 24-105 F4, 50mm F1.4, Helios44-m, 2 Cos-11D lavs

ok, well trust me when I say this, I am a proper noob at all this.

What will the Zen AMD do for me?  Is this preferable over an i7 Intel CPU?