5820K X99 vs 6700K Z170

distantcam

Hey all. I'm building a new desktop machine for myself, and I'm trying to decide between a Z170 and an X99 build.

Z170 - http://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/KF6BTH

X99 - http://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/grg3HN

I'm using an NCASE M1 and don't really care about internal aesthetics. I want this machine to perform while being reasonably quiet.

I'm a software engineer, and I run various virtual machines, hence the high memory requirement. I also game, but I usually play more indie games (Factorio, Subnautica, KSP), but the other reason for the new machine is I want to get ready for Mass Effect Andromeda when that comes out. My monitor is the Acer X34 Predator.

Which build should I use? Any other changes you'd recommend? Let me know. Thanks

If you don't game that much, I would go with the 5820K, I think it would perform better.

I have a 6700K, I like it a lot, it's great, but I build my rig for gamming.

I don't think you could go wrong either way.

Edit : Typo

I tend to always have 1-2 running, but they're usually idling. Currently I have a Docker host VM and a Linux desktop VM (the native OS is Windows). I occasionally run more for experimental stuff.

i've got a 5820K myself, and it is great for multitasking. if you are always running VMs then you will benefit from the extra two cores. it is also a good overclocker, i've been able to get to 4.3 Ghz without hassle.

25 minutes ago, distantcam said:

I tend to always have 1-2 running, but they're usually idling. Currently I have a Docker host VM and a Linux desktop VM (the native OS is Windows). I occasionally run more for experimental stuff.

If you indeed use VM's then the 5820k is definitely the way to go and as flackjack4 notes the 5820k is an excellent overclocker.