A little help

ficabj5

Hi everyone,

I am 18 years old and will enroll to university this autumn. I will be studying computer science on TUe (Technical University of Eindhoven). A little more than a year ago I started learning c++ and am pretty satisfied with my programming skills at the moment. I do realize I have a lot more to learn but I am looking for a new challenge.

To cut to the chase, I cannot decide whether to learn Java or C#.

I will be learning Java at the university and can take C# classes as electives, so I am able to learn both at the university. I realize they are very similar in some ways and completely different in others, and it all depends on what I plan on doing with them. I would really like to do something with artificial intelligence in professional terms, however I don't want to learn it by myself at the moment (I will be learning it at university). 

Do you guys have any suggestions on what should I choose?

BTW: Is there anyone who is also going to TUe, I don't know anyone there yet :)

To be honest, I don't think this is a dilemma. If you are familiar with C++, you can choose to get even better at it. These are just programming languages, they are not easy to learn as long as you master one. Plus Java and C# are both very close to C++ in terms of syntax and concepts. I'm personally better at C++, but when I got hired by a company who was using ASP, it took just a few days to be ready.

So in a nutshell, anything you choose would be fine, and learning one language doesn't mean ruling out the other one.

3 hours ago, ficabj5 said:

I started learning c++ and am pretty satisfied with my programming skills at the moment.

To be brutally honest with you that is an incredibly conceited statement to make. I am not satisfied with my programming skills even now nor do I ever imagine that I will be. There's always more to learn and one should pity the developer who feels able to make such a statement at any level.