Programming in Windows (coming from Linux/OSX)

Background: Alright so I'm an avid programmer and I'm so used to working in Linux and/or OSX.  I use sublime text 2 as my text editor because it is AMAZING!  :D seriously check it out, if you haven't. And I just use the terminal to compile or do whatever else I need to do. I mostly work in C, C++, Ruby, and Python.  I'm also using github for some projects.

Questions: How do you compile or get things done without a terminal!?! With a terminal I can compile, run, and test programs AND do all my git actions. 

I have install msysgit on my pc along with github, so I can use git bash to do all my git actions but I still can't compile using gcc. 

Now I'm currently installing cygwin so I can compile, but will I still be able to use git commands?

gonna have to get an IDE to compile.... they will compile and run the code. There are different IDE's for different languages

thats why windows is meh

ps. I use vim

| 3570k @ 4.5 | swiftech h220 ordered after patent issues | EVGA 660ti SC 3gb | 8gb gskill ripjaws | Asus p8z77-v lx | Corsair Ax 750 | Asus Xonar DS | Corsair C70 white | CM quickfire rapid mx browns | G500 | 

gonna have to get an IDE to compile.... they will compile and run the code. There are different IDE's for different languages

thats why windows is meh

ps. I use vim

All of the above!

We have a saying in Portuguese that applies to you case: "Passaste de cavalo para burro!"

Yeah I used to use vim in terminal. Ehhh I don't want an IDE...

All of the above!

We have a saying in Portuguese that applies to you case: "Passaste de cavalo para burro!"

Haha!! that quote is perfect!

I'm still developing in OSX on my macbook but I would like to program on Windows too since I love typing on my mechanical keyboard at my desk. 

Haha!! that quote is perfect!

I'm still developing in OSX on my macbook but I would like to program on Windows too since I love typing on my mechanical keyboard at my desk.