980ti Gaming Rig Planning

Hi everyone,

I am trying to plan out a gaming rig that will keep me ahead of the game for as many years as possible, within my budget (1400-1500) USD.

Even though pascal is soon to be here, I think the card for me is a 980ti since it will be quite some time till cards are actually available and will probably be as expensive for similar performance. I am planning on sticking with a single 1080p monitor @144hz for now, moving up to a 1440p when I have saved up enough after buying and building this set up. If possible I would like to stick to a white and blue theme, but I won't compromise performance for to that end. That being said, I do care about the looks quite a bit, but I maintain a function over form approach overall.

This is the build I have in mind; http://pcpartpicker.com/p/QhwGvK, and please keep in mind that this is my first build and I'm not looking to set up a custom water cooling system or something complicated like that. 

The parts I am less sure about is the case, and which version of the 980ti is really best. I read reviews that stated that the gigabyte version had an excellent cooler and therefore more room for overclocking. 

I would also like fan placement advice. The Enthoo Pro case has room for 3X 140MM on the top, 1X 140MM in the back, and 2X140MM in the front. There are also places in the bottom but I won't be using those. My thought as of now is to use two intakes in the front, and one in the back, relying on one 140 in the top to pull air out, and another two pulling air out through the 240mm rad. 

I don't need any peripherals or windows included in the price.

I appreciate any help you'd like to give!

Thanks!

Edited by Crazedbiker

2 minutes ago, Crazedbiker said:

since it will be quite some time till cards are actually available and will probably be as expensive for similar performance.

possible that the x80 will beat the 980ti is quite high, atleast from what i believe `-`