Looking to start a nas

Hey ltt community,

I am looking for some info on where to go with a nas project ID like to start.  I have some old drives and some storage that I'd like to put together for network access and kinda like my personal cloud.  I would like to also run Plex on this server and host a Minecraft box as well.  I am intrigued by the ltt video about using server hardware but not set on that.  Where do I go from here.  I'm not super savvy with OS stuff but I'm not one to shy away from learning something new. I know freenas and unraid are options but what about windows server?  Thanks for reading I hope you can point me to what I should consider for a good nas os

Windows server is an option, but from what I understand (which isn't much as I have no experience with it) it's much more complicated and basically requires a RAID card if you want to do any sort of RAID reliably (don't quote me on any of that though as I may be entirely wrong). 

What at drives do you currently have? If they're small/old it's probably not a great idea due to reliability reasons (I threw two old drives I had lying around into my FreeNAS server and both of them are basically dying after a few months -- one because it was pulled out of a nine year old enclosure and was one of seagates troublesome drives, and the other is a wd green with 30,000 hours on it as well as 1.2 million head parks -- four times what it's rated for). 

How much are you looking to spend (ecluding drives)? How many users will be using plex? What other data will you be storing? How important is that data that's being stored? When you answer any of the above questions do think long and hard about what your plans are for the future going forward five or so years.