Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 (My First Wide Angle Lens)

Swndlr

eaV0PAB.jpg

Disclaimer : I am by no means a professional or even semi-professional photographer, so if something I say in the review does not sound like I know 100% like I know what Im talking about, then Im sorry to all of the very experienced photographers on the forum (I know there are a few of you). And also, if something that I say in the review happens to be factually incorrect, let me know so I can fix it, I am no genius or know-it-all when it comes to everything camera related.

Happy Holidays to you guys, and maybe even Happy New Year (depending on when I finish writing this) and welcome to my review of my first ever wide angle lens :D Hope you enjoy the content, and the sexy, over sized photos. Also, for all who may be curious, I picked up this lens and the B+W UV filter at B&H for about $390.

First Impressions

Well, coming from a 50mm f/1.8, it's needless to say that at first I thought that this lens was huge and rightfully so, its slightly over 2X the size of the 50mm in terms of length. The size and weight specifications for each are as follows ~

50mm f/1.8 - 68.58mm x 40.64mm, 162g, 49mm filter thread

11-16 f/2.8 - 84mm x 89.2mm, 550g (~1.2 pounds), 77mm filter thread

So as you can see, there is a rather large difference between the two lenses, and it took some time to get used to, but with time anything will seem normal, and let that be the truth. Im still getting used to the feel, its a bit weird when you've been shooting with a pocket sized lens for over 3 months straight.

Appearance

NlMHfaI.jpg