EVGA SLI Pro Bridge - Paint + LED Mod

iiNNeX

Hi guys, thought I'd share with you my first mod (and the start of many). I am by no means a pro case modder/painter so this is literally from watching a youtube video.

Colour coding my SLI bridge to my theme (gunmetal/red/black). I used the method Jayz2Centz showed in one of his videos about Skunkworks to take apart the bridge and change the LED colour, and used Linus' method of painting the plastic (basically proper prep and light thin coats of paint).

Hope you like it.

This is what a standard one looks like:

0seIidT.jpg

So first I took it apart and placed a transparent red piece of flash film between the LED plate and EVGA text. I actually ended up using 3 of these pieces stacked on top of each other for better colour:

fy2hEV1.jpg

After that I took the metal silver housing, which is made out of aluminium and has a nice matte finish, and literally just cleaned it up with some 99% alcohol and went about spraying it in Gunmetal Grey:

BX7vSvd.jpg

I managed to get 2 thin coats on each side, and didn't use any clear lacquer as I wanted a matte finish. The paint dried really fast (about 10 mins or so) and here was the end result:

s5BcDgj.jpg

And here it is in use:

tI4Sy8h.jpg

I am actually pretty happy as to how that turned out and how easy it was to be honest, never having done any painting before. The grey seems to match the Asus Hero's colour scheme very well and the red is almost identical in colour strenght to the ROG logo on the motherboard. 

Next on the list is getting the new EVGA Hybrid shrouds for my GPUs which look like this:

1000x1000px-LL-03a0ff27_1442565183355.jp

They do have a white LED at the top illuminating GTX HYBRID text. I will be painting both shrouds in matte black and adding my own custom printed text to further make my build more unique and stand out.

That's all for now.

- iiNNeX

7800x3d - RTX 4090 FE - 64GB-6000C30 - 2x2TB 990 Pro - 4K 144HZ